How Standards are Developed within SDOs Internationally

  • Intermediate 1, Course 4

The International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO) is an organisation that develops International Standards (ISs) and other deliverables, such as ISO Technical Specifications (ISO/TSs), ISO Technical Reports (ISO/TRs), ISO Publicly Available Specifications (ISO/PASs), International Workshop Agreements (IWAs), and ISO Guides. ISO distinguishes the normative and the informative deliverables regarding what their content includes. International Standards (ISs), ISO Technical Specifications (ISO/TSs), and ISO Publicly Available Specifications (ISO/PASs) are normative deliverables, ISO Technical Reports (ISO/TRs) are informative deliverables, and International Workshop Agreements (IWAs) and ISO Guides do not fit these categories. The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) develops its deliverables for specific electrical, electronic, and information technology areas.

After completing this module, you should be able to:

  1. Understand how standards development processes within SDOs are settled;
  2. Understand which deliverables are developed by ISO;
  3. Understand which deliverables are developed by IEC; and
  4. Understand which deliverables might be a good choice in a specific situation.



I1 C4
Training Courses
University of Belgrade in Serbia
Ana Kicanovic